Brothers, We Need Each Other

WARNING: This post is directed towards the male species. Females, please stop reading now. You have been warned. (For your own good).

Brothers, why are we trying to live in grace all the while secluding ourselves from one another? Why are we afraid to be vulnerable and real? For the first couple of years after I rededicated my life to the Lord this is exactly what I did. I closed the doors of my heart and mind to every brother in Christ that I had. I felt like I could not open with my brothers in Christ and let them into the deepest and darkest parts of my heart. I thought I needed to pull away, act like everything is okay, and live in grace apart from the community of men. But, Brothers…

We need each other.

We can’t possibly live a life driven by grace unless we are constantly confessing our sin to0, being encouraged by, and being in relationship with other brothers in Christ. Sin cannot be killed and a life that looks like Jesus cannot happen until our own insecurities, sin, and faults are brought into the light and dealt with together. James 5:16 says this:

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.”

Did you catch it? The last part of that first sentence states that we must be confessing and praying with one another “that [we] may be healed.” We need to be with one another in order for us to be built up. This cannot happen otherwise. All seclusion does is allow sin to thrive.

We need accountability. We need guidance.

You cannot keep yourself accountable. It’s impossible. You cannot see all of the sin that is in yourself. We need other guys to extort and help guide us. Sins like selfishness, pride, idolatry, greed, and the big L, lust, thrive within seclusion. They cannot die within a brother in Christ helping you.

To be a little vulnerable, I have been struggling with lust a lot lately. I tried everything I could in order to kill it. I have read my Bible more. Spent more time in prayer. I’ve read countless book on the subject. None of it seemed to work. Within the past week I became really convicted. I realized that I had failed allow other guys to speak into my life the way I should. I only revealed to them what I wanted to, instead of the whole truth of my sin.

Men of God… allow other men of God to speak into your life.

Do not be afraid to let brothers into the darkest parts of your heart. Allow them to speak truth into your life. Have guys there that can keep you accountable to your sin. (Guys… not your girlfriend. They shouldn’t keep you accountable). Please, do not be afraid to be vulnerable. We live in a culture that believes that guys need to be “macho.” Nothing is more manly than a man who follows Christ and wants to be more like Him.

Allow the Spirit to speak to you through your brothers in Christ.

Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.”

Hebrews 10: 19-25

Leave a Reply

